A New Way to Read Stories

There’s a new “experiment” going on in publishing. A site called Quarter Reads lets authors upload very short stories (500-2,000 words), and, after a quick preview of a few sentences, lets readers access the whole thing for 25 cents per story.

There is no “editor” per se, no gatekeeper compiling a “magazine,” and thus no initial payment for the writer. But the writer gets 88% of each quarter read, and 100% of any tips dumped into the tip jar by a reader who really like a story. The writing can be of any genre, and search fields can narrow a reader’s options by genre, author, hottest read, latest uploaded, etc.

I think this sounds like a great idea, and I’ve got stories in the queue waiting to be uploaded. There are some great stories already there, and some wonderful writers contributing to the site. I suggest you pop on over and give it a try–read something. Drop in a tip, if you really liked something. Directly support writing, and writers. How awesome is that? I’d be interested in knowing what you think of the site.

About M.E. Garber

I'm an itinerant Ohio-born speculative fiction writer now living in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in publication, Reading, signal boosting, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A New Way to Read Stories

  1. Widdershins says:

    Interesting. I poked around the site a bit, not that there’s a lot to see, (unless one signs up, I suppose) and I found the lack of an ‘about’ page a bit of a red light. I want to know who I’m giving my 25 cents/stories to, before I commit.

    Not that it’s not a splendid idea, just a bit more upfront accountability please.

    Like

  2. K. Caffee says:

    It looks interesting. I have problems writing anything that short, but if I create anything I feel worth trying, I will send it that way. May sign up to read as well once I can get the initial fee build up. Being a broke college student bites.

    Like

Leave a Reply

