New Home, New Photos: A Gallery

So, we moved from the north to the Deep North, as this area of north central Florida is known. Getting to know the place will take time, but here are some pics from around the area. It really is beautiful, in a very different way than I’m used to.

I’ll be gone for over the weekend. Husband’s birthday and our anniversary. When I come back, I’ll have some good news to share. Happy holiday weekend to those in the US. To everyone else, just “Happy Weekend.” Hope you all enjoy the photos below.

Turtles share the pond with tiny fishes, who all keep the mosquitos controlled.

Turtles share the pond with tiny fishes, who all keep the mosquitos controlled.

I'm absolutely fascinated by the Spanish moss covering the oaks. It looks so...ancient, and yet timeless.

I’m absolutely fascinated by the Spanish moss covering the oaks. It looks so…ancient, and yet timeless.

Welcoming committee member on my car tire.

Welcoming committee member on my car tire. I shooed it away before I drove.

This is great advertising!

This is great advertising! We went for the cupcakes.

Don't hate me--I don't know what this butterfly's name is...yet. I promise I'll learn it soon.

Don’t hate me–I don’t know what this butterfly’s name is…yet. I promise I’ll learn it soon. It’s on the Lady Palm in my front yard. How amazing is that!

Isn't this too gorgeous? Just don't ask how hot and humid it was...

Isn’t this too gorgeous? Just don’t ask how hot and humid it was…. The answer is “very.”

This is why I'm outside taking photos instead of inside writing!

This is why I’m outside taking photos instead of inside writing! Except today I opened and emptied the last box. Hurray!

Saw this while driving, and nearly laughed myself off the road. (No, I didn't take the photo then, but later when they were in my neighborhood.)

Saw this while driving, and nearly laughed myself off the road. (No, I didn’t take the photo then, but later when they were in my neighborhood. Insane I am not.)

My new "pets" in the garden. They can eat all the bugs they like!

My new “pets” in the garden. They can eat all the bugs they like. I call them all “Lizzie,” except for the huge one that lives by the garage door. That’s T-Rex, or Rex.

About M.E. Garber

I'm an itinerant Ohio-born speculative fiction writer now living in north central Florida.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Magic of the Everyday, Moving, Nature, Personal Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Home, New Photos: A Gallery

  1. Widdershins says:

    Happy Birth-versary! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

