More Walking in the Woods

I’ve been writing on the novel, naturally, and so far, so good–knock on wood. Oh, I still know this is a rough draft (no doubt about that, as my Internal Editor and Internal Critic still mutter and mumble just loud enough for me to hear and not forget their unhappy existences), but it is a draft that is progressing pretty well. About 1,000 words per day, every day, Monday through Friday (and sometimes on Saturday). And that makes me happy.

I had hoped to write a short story over the weekend, but the weather shocked us with its utter gorgeousness, and so with some friends we drove to Longwood Gardens in Pennsylvania and walked our feet off, enjoying the blooms both outdoors and in. (4 acres under glass in the Conservatory? That is insane–and insanely gorgeous. I could live inside there!) I also was in the state of Delaware for the first time in my life. It was nice to be able to add another state to my list of places visited.

Today, I needed to walk again. So, to the nearby park. Wild rhododendrons and lady slipper orchids were everywhere. I still can’t get over the fact that both of these are wild and common here. That’s just kind of amazing. And a bright bit of scarlet fungus stopped me in my tracks, as well. Yes, flowers and fungus–that’s me.

wildrhod redmold

In addition, the frogs are trying out their voices, and just now sound like sick pigs snuffle-grunting, or perhaps geese honk-grunting, low and rhythmic in the swampy area by the river.

 

I’m also busy reading the novels for the Hugo voting. Two down–Neptune’s Brood by Charles Stross, and Parasite by Mira Grant. Up next are Warbound by Larry Correia, and Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie. Let’s see which gets here first, shall we? That leaves only the Wheel of Time serieseven though it’s pretty huge. /sigh/ Back to reading.

sliporch

About M.E. Garber

I'm an itinerant Ohio-born speculative fiction writer now living in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Magic of the Everyday, Nature, Personal Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Walking in the Woods

  1. Skye says:

    Looking forward to your book!

    Like

Leave a Reply

