Quote of the Week

 .      “Action is eloquence, …”
.                  –Volumnia, from The Tragedy of Coriolanus by William Shakespeare.

Put another way, “Actions speak louder than words.” (Or, if you prefer, “You are what you eat.” But I ate an avocado today, so I sure hope I don’t become one of those–green and wrinkly! Yuck.)

It’s been awhile since I’ve made some “regular” postings here. Sorry about that, but let me tell you what I have been doing: I’ve been writing.

I don’t just think about writing. I write. I don’t just say I want to be a writer. I write. And as Shakespeare so correctly pointed out, action is eloquence. I won’t say that my writing is all eloquence, or that Shakespeare has something to fear (what a laugh!), but I’m putting my money where my mouth is and writing.

Some days, I really don’t feel like it. Well, some days I really don’t feel like getting out of bed in the mornings, but I almost always do (unless I’m really sick). So, I write despite “not really wanting to” some days. And you know what? Usually, once the gears get oiled and moving, the writing flows anyways. It feels good, once I start, and I’m always glad that I did write. Always. Even if I get stuck somewhere. Even if halfway through I realize “uh-oh, I need to re-write all that because of this.” Because it’s all progress. Because I’m getting better, day by day, word by word.

Drink the writerly Kool-aid. Set some goals to become a writer.

Now go write.

About M.E. Garber

I'm an itinerant Ohio-born speculative fiction writer now living in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Quote of the Week, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

