On Top of the World

Both Wicked East Press anthologies that my stories will appear in have shipped “Authors’ Proofs” this week. These are my first (but with any luck not the last) author’s proofs I’ve received, and getting them made me do a dance for joy. Something about “Author’s Proof” in the email ‘subject’ line, and my name in the ‘to’ line seems magical, wondrous and very fine. I’ve been wearing a secret, sly smile for days, hugging the news to myself: someone else has named me ‘author.’

It’s one thing to believe yourself to be a writer, and a very important one at that. But I can honestly say that reading ‘author’ attached to my name sent a frisson of energy shimmering down my spine. It can happen. It is happening. To me. I am becoming … an author. What a fine counterpoint to ‘writer’ that is!

Smile with me!

About M.E. Garber

I'm an itinerant Ohio-born speculative fiction writer now living in north central Florida.
This entry was posted in Magic of the Everyday, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On Top of the World

  1. Marc Schuster says:

    Congratulations!

    Like

  2. Lorna Garber says:

    I’m smiling with you Mary!!

    Like

  3. Sonya says:

    Two dictonaries later and no frisson. hmmm Stop shivering and enjoy!!!! We celebrated with style with an “AUTHOR.” I am honored. Woot, woot!!!!!!!!!

    Like

  4. I am impressed with this web site , really I am a fan .

    Like

  5. njaleruma says:

    I t is my joy,I have found you and your writings are extremely good.We shall talk.

    Like

Leave a Reply

